All six lawyers that comprised Essex Court Chambers Duxton (Singapore Group Practice) have left to set up a new practice, following the Chinese government’s sanctions on the UK’s Essex Court Chambers.

Launched in 2017, Essex Court Chambers Duxton operates as a regulated Singapore group practice that is independent of the UK entity. It emulates the chambers model, with self-employed, independent practitioners working together and sharing administrative services.

The six lawyers are former Singapore attorney-general VK Rajah SC, Toby Landau QC, Chan Leng Sun SC, Colin Liew, Tham Lijing and Calvin Liang.

According to a statement from London’s Essex Court Chambers, the sanctions imposed were related to the Jan. 26 legal opinion penned by the four members of the chambers on the treatment of the Uyghur Muslim minority in Xinjiang.

The announcement of the Singapore lawyers’ departure was made via a notice on Essex Court Chambers Duxton’s website.


To contact the editorial team, please email